Sport and society events


Besides the daily work, the BYC organize some events. These can be special events, based on public holidays or days, like Heritage Day or Mandela Day. On these days we combine the specialty of the day and the program of the event. This can be traditional dances, costumes and singing, and on the other hand cleaning up and talking about environmental themes.

Fun on the sportsday

According to these events, we organize sport events, like soccer tournaments or a day, with a lot of indigenes games. Through the time, we got a lot of connections and supporters. Every year in august, a group of students from the LEED’s university in England work with the children and make a sport day, once a week.

Sportday with the students from the University of Leeds

Furthermore the Briardene Youth Center is working hand in hand with other organizations in Durban. The BYC is attending events from other organizations. These give the opportunity to meet other people, who are working in the same area. The children have also the opportunity to meet other children and other places and take relations.

Sport- und Gesellschaftliche Veranstaltungen


Neben der täglichen Arbeit organisiert das BYC Veranstaltungen. Dies können spezielle Veranstaltungen, basierend auf Feiertagen, die dem „Heritage Day“ oder dem „Mandela Day“ sein. Auf diesen Veranstaltungen wird der Tag zelebriert oder sich mit dem Thema beschäftigt. Das können traditionelle Tänze und Musik, Kostüme oder traditionelle Kleidung sein. Auf der anderen Seite aber auch das Reinigen von der Umgebung und Diskussionen über Umweltschutz.

Sporttag mit den Leed's Studenten

Zusätzlich zu diesen finden Sportveranstaltungen statt, wie z.B. Fußballturniere. Während der Zeit wurden einige Unterstützer und Kontakte geknüpft. Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit einer Gruppe an StudentInnen der Universität von Leed‘s aus England findet jedes Jahr im August einmal pro Woche ein Sporttag statt.

Spaß mit den Studenten

Des Weiteren arbeitet das Briardene Youth Center mit anderen Organisationen im Raum Durban zusammen. Das bietet die Möglichkeit, andere Personen kennenzulernen, welche im gleichen Aufgabenbereich arbeitet. So nimmt das BYC an Veranstaltungen von anderen Organisationen teil. Dies bietet für die Kinder die Möglichkeit neue Freunde zu finden und mit anderen zu spielen, zu arbeiten und Kontakt aufzunehmen, sowie andere Orte kennen zu lernen.